On Saturday, January 13th, 20 members of the San Gabriel Valley Model A Ford Club visited the Monrovia Historical Museum for a tour. Members of the organizations brought along several cars that dated from 1928 - 1931. The Club began in 1958 and will be celebrating their 60th anniversary this year.
Board members are busy designing a Pacific Electric exhibit in the east wing of the Museum. Items on display will include magazines, photographs, maps, suitcases and more! The Museum is looking for any items related to the Pacific Electric Railway and will welcome any donated artifacts. An update will be posted on this blog once the exhibit is completed.
Learn about the art of quilting
The Monrovia Historic Preservation Group and the Monrovia Historical Museum are co-sponsoring an event about quilting to be presented by local business Cat’s Quilting Corner, located at 505 S. Myrtle Avenue. The quilting shop’s owner, Cat Knudtson and her mother, Dorine Nieuwenhuijis, will be sharing their many years of experience in the art of making a quilt.
The event is being held by MOHPG in conjunction with the Monrovia Historical Museum, which is also the location of the presentation. It will be held on Sunday, November 19, starting at 2 pm. (The museum is open from 1-4 pm.)
Attendees are encouraged to bring in heirloom quilts to be evaluated. Depending on the quilt, the mother-daughter team may be able to determine the age of the quilt, how it was made, and possibly its value.
The public is invited and refreshments will be served.
We have redesigned our Monrovia Airport "Flying Field" exhibit by providing more pictures and artifacts. Come by and read about the history of the airport and its connection to the McDonald's Restaurant of today and the Laurel and Hardy of yesterday!
Stop by to see our new doll exhibit! The Museum has an extensive doll collection that once belonged to Lucia Cromwell who was a teacher at Mayflower Elementary School in Monrovia, California from 1926-1962. During this time, she collected well over 600 dolls from around the world that she used as visual aids to teach her students about history and the diversity of various world cultures. Our display showcases twelve of the presidential dolls with their wives and also the dolls highlighted in the Doll Tales book sold in our Gift Shop.
On Monday, August 21, 2017, thirteen members from the Historic Preservation Volunteer Team from the Los Angeles County Arboretum came for a private tour of the Museum. Board Members ili Lobaco and Pam Barkas served as docents. The group took time out between visiting the two Museum wings to witness the solar eclipse. The group was very impressed with the collection that the Museum has and are looking forward to visiting again.
New Exhibit - Millinery Store
Stop by to see our newest exhibit in the East wing of the Museum. Our Millinery Store showcases our collection of vintage hats, gloves, handkerchiefs, shoes and more!
On April 30, 2017, the Monrovia Historical Museum (MHM) together with the Monrovia Historical Society, held an event at the MHM to discuss the former Monrovia Airport that was once located parallel to Shamrock Avenue and south of Huntington Drive. At the airport, pilots practiced their craft, students learned to fly, and passengers went for rides - along with the occasional movie being filmed.
History lovers and flying enthusiasts relived the aviation years of “Monrovia’s Flying Field” with chats with and stories from experts in the history of the Flying Field. There were photographs of historic planes and videos of the Flying Field in action. In addition, there were photos of the McDonald Brother's first hamburger stand which was once at the Monrovia Airport. Special guests included Tom Blackburn, son of the airport owner, Al Blackburn, and Gary Boen, airport historian and collector of more than 1,000 photos and papers on the airport.
Did you know that before the golden statue named Oscar was first given to motion pictures in 1929, there was a film studio in Monrovia? Called the Monrovia Feature Film Company, it was started in the fall of 1915. Confidence was high that the venture would be a success and the many investors purchased 154 acres in the foothills of Monrovia on which to build studios, dining halls, dressing rooms, and administration buildings. The studio also used local houses and hired Monrovia citizens as actors and extras. The first film, named "The Argonauts of '49" was about early California settlers, as was the second film "A Daughter of the Dons."