June 27, 2025. The Reopening of Monrovia Canyon Park
Canyon Park became “official” in 1911, yet the area had been utilized for decades prior. Hibbard and Polly Rankin settled in the Emerson Flat area around 1874. Around 1886, L.H. Emerson, for whom Emerson Flat is named, settled in the Sawpit Canyon area. For many years, Monrovians enjoyed hiking and camping in Canyon Park, even though getting there was difficult because there was no road. In1911, Taylor Renaker, member of a pioneer Monrovia family, started a group of volunteers building that road. Thus began the “official” Canyon Park.
Mark Harvis, MHM Vice President Which is when the City got to work.
The water system had to be completely redone. The septic system was removed and everything put on a renewed sewer. Retaining walls needed to be repaired. Roads and parking lots needed to be regraded and resurfaced. The City didn’t just put bandages on the injuries. Instead, the City figured out how to fix what was broken and, at the same time, make the park better and more resilient without really changing the look and ambience we all loved.
Becky Shevlin, City of Monrovia Mayor Visitors can now enjoy new or improved features including expanded picnic areas and BBQs, a Meditation Platform, ADA-accessible paths and parking, and the beautifully renovated Nature Center—home again to our beloved “Samson the Bear.” Native plants are already thriving, and a new greenhouse will help reestablish Canyon Park’s ecosystem for generations to come.
Museum members have loved Canyon Park for decades. Now there is so much more to love. When we visited for the grand opening, we noticed that although the park is better, it really hasn’t changed. It’s Canyon Park. And that’s something. Watch KGEM-TV's coverage of the reopening.
Want more info? Want to visit? First, visit the City’s Canyon Park website and learn all about our brand-new yet not-brand-new park: click here

RSS Feed